Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
l'antre de yevaud - Yevaud's lair
l'antre de yevaud - Yevaud's lair
Archives
Derniers commentaires
3 novembre 2006

soap, bath bombs, and mask

cadeau3110You probably realized already, I'm a poor blogger. And having a baby doesn't help. But believe it or not, I'm still cooking a lot, did a lot of sewing this summer and fall, and even a bit of bath thingies. It's just that I always forget to take a picture before sending the gifts away, or eating all those delights I produce.

 

This time however, I did remember. We were going to a friend's birthday and I made a package of of homemade soap, mask and bath bombs. My first bath bombs, wooo! It was the first time in many years that I spent the evening of October 31st far from any Halloween fun. And strangely I didn't miss it. Just too tired to thing about making a costume.

 

Anyway, here are my recipes. I haven't heard yet, if my friends enjoyed her present or not. And since I'm not allowed essential oils (still breastfeeding), I couldn't test the things myself.

Recipes:

 

Purifying and energizing mask (sorry I didn't mesure the exact quantities, just added what looked right):

 

  • green clay
  • baking soda
  • cornstarch
  • witch hazel water
  • mineral water
  • hazelnut and almond oil
  • germall plus
  • mint and tea tree essential oil

Bath bombs: this recipe is inspired from "les banlieusardises" with input from the now closed forum (especially Mary).

 

  • 500 ml baking soda
  • 250 ml citric acid
  • 250 ml cornstarch
  • a hanfull of lavender flowers
  • 1 tablespoon aloes gel
  • 2 tablespoon almond oil
  • 1 tea spoon witch hazel water
  • green and yellow color for cooking
  • 2 tea spoon essential oil (lavender and lemongrass)

Mix all dry ingredients except a small glass of baking soda. Add oil and gel and mix quickly and thoroughly. In the remaining baking soda, add the color drops and essential oil. Mix together first then in the big batch. At this point I thought it looked really dry, so I added my t. sppon of witch hazel water. It may have been a mistake. I pressed my mixture in the molds (small  plastic containers that were once full of decilious chocolate cream). After 2h , the bath bombs came out of the molds and looked gorgeous. Some people let them dry, others bake them. For lack of time I decided totry the former. That might have been my second mistake. The next morning, my bombs had swelled, looking definitely lopsided and feeling still a bit humid. I baked them anyway, 30 min thermostat 1. A small piece in a glass of water did produce some fizzing, so I decided they were good to go in the present box.

Soap: I won't describe the whole process, or I will never finish this entry.

  • Both soaps are made with : Palm, oil, coconut, grapeseed, canola oil. Superfatted with grapeseed oil
  • Light soap additives: Mandarine and lemon essential oil,  lemon peel, paprika
  • Orange soap: Red palm oil, beeswax, lavender, geranium and lemongrass essential oils
Publicité
Commentaires
D
Good work! I am sure your friend is very happy with her gift! ;-)
l'antre de yevaud - Yevaud's lair
Publicité
Publicité