Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
l'antre de yevaud - Yevaud's lair
l'antre de yevaud - Yevaud's lair
Archives
Derniers commentaires
22 août 2006

motherhood

jo4wYou're probably thinking that being a new mum is what kept me away from the keyboard so long. Of course you're right. But baby care is not what eats all our time. Actually, surfing and writing at the computer is one thing you can do with a small one in your arms.  So its not the baby, it's the social life that springs around it. Parenthood does'nt mean staying at home alone with a baby. We've had friends and family for coffee, "apero" or dinner, or been out, almost every other day since Jolan was born. I don't complain. I've even had my childhood friend from Quebec staying 2 weeks, which was great. But it means that the "free" days are best used for all kind of chores such as paper work, getting the cards sent after all, and just lying on the sofa doing nothing (else than feeding the baby and changing diapers).

Now, since my friend has gone back to Montreal, and Ian to work, the days have become more quiet. I've taken up sewing again, and reinstalled windows on the computer, which was driving me crazy with unwanted popups, problems at startup and other defects that my antivirus and antispyware couldn't clean. I'm thinking of making some new batches of soap, as soon as I get the empty Pringles boxes promised by a friend. Then I should start again on my web design project.

What about motherhood then? Well, it's great! There's no way to describe the feeling, when you first realise you have a baby, your own baby, your love. Yes, this cute little thing is your son. And it doesn't matter anymore that you're tired, have less time of your own and less freedom, since you have your baby. It doesn't even matter that I was interrupted 3-4 times since starting this entry. Right now, he's in my arms doing funny faces. Oh so cute! I cannot understand people who say baby are boring the first few months.

Jolan is an easy boy. Not too much crying. And last night he slept 5 hours. The only problem was that he refused to take from the breast, so I've had to pump my milk and give it from the bottle. That's because he was to small at birth, and didn't have the proper reflex. Even the bottle was a hard job the first week, and once he got used to the bottle I had little hope of seeing him change for the more direct but less easy way, although I still put him on the breast each time. Now it seems I was right to try. Although he still takes a little from the bottle, he suddenly decided that he could get his meal directly at the source.

Ohhh he's smiling in his sleep :)  well, I'll try to put him in bed and take my shower.

Publicité
Commentaires
D
Il est vraiment adorable! Profites bien de ces précieux moments avec ton petit bout de chou! ;-)
E
:-) Je suis contente de voir que tu en profites bien. Il est vraiment trop mignon sur cette photo! Plein de bisous de "down under".
l'antre de yevaud - Yevaud's lair
Publicité
Publicité