Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
l'antre de yevaud - Yevaud's lair
l'antre de yevaud - Yevaud's lair
Archives
Derniers commentaires
28 mars 2006

half way

5mois3
I'm close to 5 months now, and my belly's started to expand. People exclaim at how much I've grown in only a week or two, and those who didn't know about it can't be fooled anymore. Of course the fact that it's not hidden by thick winter clothes might add to the actual size increase. Can you believe that after this picture was taken, the clouds parted, and we actually did some real sunbathing on the terrasse? The first this year, after a "long" winter.

Yesterday I also had my first lunch outside. I was meeting with a friend I had not been in contact with for years. She was only stopping for a a short time between two trains, so we went to a fast food close to the station. Although the clouds were back and threatening to pour down on us, we sat at the terrasse to eat, and talk, and find that we had not been drifting apart, but rather found ourselves in similar situations, at least concerning our quest of a future carreer. She invited me to visit her in her yurt. Now, that would be quite an experience. I don't know if it will be feasible though.

The entertainment for the day was not over, as one friend was defending his thesis at about the same time I was meeting with my friend. Having missed the begining, I didn't hurry, but managed to catch the last few minutes, when the jury gives its verdict. A thesis defence in France is quite informal, compared to what happens in Finland.  No protocol, no tuxedoes. The defendant might dress a bit more smartly than usual, but there are no rules. The talk goes for 45 min, and questions are asked by a jury of half a dozen people. When everything is over, we gather for drink and snacks in the hall of the intitute. As the defendant was lebanese, he had ordered some nice specialties, and everybody stuffed themselves.  After that, it's up to anyone wether they want to celebrate and how. No formal dinner, and especially not with the jury and supervisor. This time we were just a dozen at one friend's place, with the rest of the drinks, a few pizzas and a great game

Publicité
Commentaires
l'antre de yevaud - Yevaud's lair
Publicité
Publicité